SSEP Announces New Grant Program for the Southeast Saskatchewan region

Business News

An exciting new grant program has been announced for the Southeast Saskatchewan region. The Municipal Coal Transition Assistance Program was developed by the Province of Saskatchewan as part of its plan to support communities while they transition from coal-based industries to other economic possibilities.

This program supports municipalities and businesses in the southeast transition region of Saskatchewan and is designed to attract investment and advance economic development and diversification opportunities in the area. Eligible applications must focus on the creation, support, expansion or improvement of jobs in the local community.

Applications will be reviewed in a timely manner by the Municipal Coal Transition Committee, which is comprised of representatives from City of Estevan, R.M. of Estevan, R.M. of Coalfields, and the Town of Bienfait.

Applications are being accepted on a bi-monthly basis until March 31, 2025 or until such time as funds in the program are no longer available. 

For more information visit